lovable.oddity.

rejoice in the lovable oddity of things.

Recipe Experimentation.

So our internet and phone lines have just gone out at work, and I literally cannot do one single productive thing. Except type up a blog post in Word. Duh. 🙂 Seriously, what did the world do before the internet? (just got home to actually post it!)

Anywho, food rut. I’m definitely in one. You all know what I mean. Eating the same thing for breakfast every morning (although giving up my Chobani yogurt is just blasphemy!), always taking the same type of sandwich or salad for lunch, and coming home after the gym too exhausted to actually cook anything that takes more than 5 min. in the microwave.

I think this realization is what led me to a weekend full of recipe experimentation. I mentioned making overnight oats on Saturday, but for some reason decided to experiment again around midnight with some leftover eggplant I had. And I really mean experiment! This is what I came up with.

Looks kind of disgusting, but it was yummy!

Roasted Eggplant Dip

1/2 eggplant

1/2 cup chopped onions

1/2 cup chopped mushrooms

2 T minced garlic

1 can diced tomatoes

4 oz. fat free cream cheese

1/2 cup fat free mayo

1/2 cup mozzarella

1. Roast all vegetables until tender and lightly blend them together with the garlic. 2. Mix cream cheese, mayo, salt, pepper, garlic powder, and cayenne to your liking. 3. Add vegetable mixture and diced tomatoes to cream cheese/mayo mixture. 4. Put all into baking dish and sprinkle with mozzarella. 5. Bake until cheese is bubbly!

This made a ton! And the cayenne really added a nice kick to it. However, if you aren’t a fan of eggplant, you will definitely not want to try this.

Sunday morning rolled around, and of course I was awake by 8:30 a.m. no matter how hard I tried to sleep in (8:30 is extreeemely late for me). I wanted something other than yogurt for breakfast, so I decided to try Baked Cheesy Grits. A coworker brought them in last Friday for our monthly potluck breakfast, and I think I consumed half the dish! Cheese + Grits = Awesome. When I made them, I tried to healthify the recipe a bit by using almond milk and cutting out the butter completely. I’m not a big fan of butter on things. I’d much rather just add tons of salt. So much better for me, right? 🙂

Our breakfast club spread! I brought the fruit.

My version of baked cheesy grits along with an omelet and plum for breakfast.

Buuut I still wasn’t done trying new things. Later that afternoon, I decided it was time to use the bread pan I bought months ago and haven’t used yet. And out came Chocolate Almond Bread. The recipecalled for bananas and walnuts, but I didn’t have any, so I subbed part applesauce part Greek yogurt. I gave up chocolate for Lent, so I couldn’t actually taste the creation, but my coworkers finished it off by lunchtime so I guess it was a hit!

Chocolate almond bread on the left. Peanut butter oatmeal no bake cookies on the right!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

